Today we are pleased to launch the Australia-Pacific BRIDGE School Partnerships program as part of our commitment to strengthening links with our neighbours in the Pacific.

Over the next two years, schools in Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Nauru, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu will take part in a pilot program connecting them with Australian schools. The program will support collaborative, intercultural learning and facilitate exchanges between teachers on best practices in education. It will also support increased use of digital technology to link classrooms with resources and information from around the world.

A key focus of the program will also be strengthening links between schools that offer education to students with a disability.

14 school partnerships will be established over the program's two-year pilot period, with one primary and one secondary school partnership per country and at least three schools focussed on students with a disability.

The program builds on Australian Government support for the BRIDGE Program across South East Asia. Since 2008, the BRIDGE program has connected young Australians with peers from across South East Asia, building mutual understanding and supporting lasting friendships.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555