The Australian Government has today listed Islamic State Khorasan Province (IS-KP) for counter-terrorism targeted financial sanctions, effective for three years. IS-KP has carried out frequent terrorist attacks in Afghanistan and Pakistan against civilian and government targets. It has also attacked international charity workers.

We have also renewed Australia’s listing of Islamic State Sinai Province (IS-SP) (formerly listed with ‘Ansar Bayt al-Maqdis’ as the primary name) for a further three years. IS-SP has carried out violent attacks against civilian Muslim and Coptic Christian targets as well as Egyptian security forces. It is suspected of responsibility for the al Rawdah mosque bombing in the northern Sinai in November 2017 which killed over 305 people.

The listing of these entities makes it an offence to use or deal with the assets of, or to make an asset available to, either of these entities.

These listings implement Australia’s obligations under United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolution 1373 (2001) to suppress the financing of terrorism.

Full details of all listed persons and entities can be found in the Consolidated List available at

The Australian Government remains determined to combat and prevent terrorism in all its forms.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555