I am pleased to appoint Ms Kylie Walker as Chair of the Australian National Commission for United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Ms Walker is the Chief Executive Officer of Science and Technology Australia, Australia’s peak body in science and technology, and has previously worked as Co-Chair of the National Research and Innovation Alliance and as Director of Communications and Outreach for the Australian Academy of Science. Her advocacy and public relations experience is built on more than a decade as a journalist in the national print and broadcast media.

UNESCO contributes to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, science, culture, communication and information. Australia is a founding member and is active in all areas of UNESCO’s work, particularly as it relates to the protection of cultural and environmental heritage, freedom of expression, and respect for cultural diversity.

The National Commission advises the Australian Government on matters relating to UNESCO, and acts as a point of contact for the Australian community on UNESCO issues.

I thank outgoing Chair, Ms Annmaree O’Keefe AM, for fulfilling her duties with great professionalism and wish her well in her ongoing work with the Lowy Institute.

More information on the Commission can be found here.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555