Today I have designated five North Korean individuals for targeted financial sanctions and travel bans because of their association with North Korea’s weapons of mass destruction or missiles programs.

These designations are part of our autonomous sanctions in response to North Korea’s refusal to abandon its nuclear and ballistic missile programs which are in violation of multiple United Nations Security Council resolutions.

The Australian Government stands with the international community in condemning North Korea’s persistent testing of ballistic missiles and its pursuit of nuclear weapon capabilities.

Our measures add to international pressure on North Korea and complement strong resolutions adopted by the UN Security Council and the autonomous sanctions of our partners. 

Australia’s consolidated list contains all persons and entities that are subject to targeted financial sanctions under Australian law and can be found here.

We will continue to work with our allies and partners, including the United States, Japan, the Republic of Korea and China, to uphold global peace and stability.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555