Today I appoint four new community members and a new Parliamentary Observer to the Australian National Commission for United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

UNESCO contributes to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, science, culture, communication and information. Australia is a founding member and is active in all areas of UNESCO’s work, particularly as it relates to the protection of cultural and environmental heritage, freedom of expression, and respect for cultural diversity.

The National Commission advises the Australian Government on matters relating to UNESCO, and acts as a point of contact for the Australian community on UNESCO issues.

The new community members are Ms Rishelle Hume, 2016 West Australian of the Year (Aboriginal Category); Dr Bronte Adams, Rhodes Scholar and consultant; Professor Jill Downie Curtin University Deputy Vice Chancellor; and Mr Chris Eigeland, 2016 Australian Youth Representative to the United Nations. 

Mr Andrew Laming MP, Member for Bowman, will serve as the Government’s Parliamentary Observer, joining Opposition Observer Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP, Member for Calwell.

I thank outgoing members Ms Chrissy Grant, Dr Martin Hadlow and Mr Benson Saulo, who have served admirably on the Commission.  Their commitment is an excellent example to those who follow.

More information on the Commission can be found here.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555