The Government has listed three terrorist organisations under the Criminal Code: 

  • al-Qa’ida in the Indian Subcontinent;
  • Islamic State Sinai Province; and
  • Islamic State in Libya. 

The Government has also re-listed al-Qa’ida in the Arabian Peninsula, which was first listed as a terrorist organisation in Australia in November 2010.

The listings follow advice from security agencies that these organisations are either directly or indirectly engaged in, preparing, planning, assisting or fostering terrorist attacks.

We know that:

  • al-Qa’ida in the Indian Subcontinent and the Arabian Peninsula seek to advance al‑Qa’ida’s ideology in the South Asia region and the Middle East;
  • Islamic State Sinai Province claimed responsibility for downing Russian Metrojet flight 9268, and has also committed attacks on Western interests and security forces in Egypt; and
  • Islamic State in Libya has been responsible for kidnappings and terrorist attacks against Western interests in North Africa and Libya.

It is an offence to be a member of, participate in, train with, or provide support to, a terrorist organisation. These offences attract penalties of up to 25 years imprisonment.

Alongside these Criminal Code listings, the Government has also listed Islamic State in Libya, al-Qa’ida in the Indian Subcontinent – as well as its leader, Asim Umar – for targeted financial sanctions under Part 4 of the Charter of the United Nations Act 1945. This listing gives effect to Australia’s international obligations to prevent and suppress the financing of terrorist acts. Islamic State Sinai Province is already listed under the Charter of the United Nations Act.

More information about listed terrorist organisations is available at the National Security website.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555