I am delighted to announce that Mrs Wenny Sunarharum and Mr Rumayya have been awarded the 2015 Australia Awards Hadi Soesastro Prize.

The annual prize supports the work of Indonesian academics completing their doctorates in Australia with the aim of developing young leaders and promoting people-to-people and educational links between our two countries.

Mrs Sunarharum and Mr Rumayya were awarded the prize for their contributions to food science and economic management respectively.

The Hadi Soesastro Prize honours one of Indonesia’s most eminent thinkers, the late Professor Hadi Soesastro, who was a great friend of Australia. Professor Soesastro was an economist, academic and public intellectual who made major contributions to Asia-Pacific cooperation.

Professor Soesastro had strong links to the Australian National University where he was an Adjunct Professor.

The Australia Awards complements the New Colombo Plan in strengthening education cooperation and people-to-people links between Australia and Indonesia.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555