I am pleased to announce Australian journalist Latika Bourke and Indonesian journalist Aiman Witjaksono as the recipients of this year’s prestigious Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award.

Ms Bourke, National Political Reporter for Fairfax Media, and Mr Witjaksono, Executive Producer and News Anchor for Kompas TV, will spend two weeks in Indonesia and Australia respectively, to gain a stronger understanding of contemporary issues in each country.

The Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O’Neill, who died in service of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Indonesia on 7 March 2007. Awardees share Elizabeth’s commitment to encouraging better mutual understanding between Australians and Indonesians through accurate and informed media coverage.

Ms Bourke will focus on the Indonesian Government’s approach to Australia under the leadership of President Joko Widodo.  She will also examine the development of trade and people-to-people links between the two countries, including through the Australian Government’s New Colombo Plan.

Mr Witjaksono will report on Australian perspectives on human rights in Indonesia, including the situation in Papua.  He will also explore the effect of Australia’s free trade agreements on the Australia-Indonesia economic relationship.

Each participant will meet with community leaders, government officials, industry and NGO representatives.

The annual Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award is sponsored by the Australian Government through the Australia-Indonesia Institute.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555