I congratulate the winners and finalists of the inaugural round of the Australia-China Achievement Awards, announced by the Prime Minister on 17 November during Chinese President Xi Jinping’s visit.

The Awards showcase the leadership and creativity of Australian organisations and people in building stronger economic, cultural and education connections between Australia and China.

The Awards attracted significant interest from the Australian community with over 80 nominations received in a period of one month. The nominations reflect the breadth, diversity and strength of Australia-China ties.

Selected through a rigorous process across three categories of Arts, Entrepreneurship and Education, the winners of the inaugural round are:

  • Arts: Sydney Symphony Orchestra (NSW) for showcasing Australian arts and creativity to Chinese audiences and promoting Australia and Sydney as leading global cultural destinations
  • Entrepreneurship:  Bridestowe Estate (TAS) for pro-active and innovative market entry into China and promoting Tasmania as a destination for Chinese tourists
  • Education: Professor Max Lu (QLD) from the University of Queensland for exemplary leadership in advancing research and education relationship between Australia and China.

The finalists of the inaugural round are:

  • Arts: Warburton Arts Project and Warburton Community (WA); OzAsia Festival (SA); Lu Yiying (NSW); and Catherine Croll and Cultural Partnerships Australia (NSW).
  • Education: Australia-China Youth Association (National); Haileybury School (VIC); Asia Australia Mental Health (VIC); and StudyPerth (WA).
  • Entrepreneurship: Timothy Coghlan and the Australia-China Fashion Alliance (ACT - China); Australia-China Youth Dialogue (National); Shenzhen Aolinjia Import and Export Co. Ltd (VIC); and Royal District Nursing Service Limited (VIC).

The Australia-China Achievement Awards is a new national program administered by the Australia-China Council. Further information about the Awards and this year’s winners and finalists is available at http://www.dfat.gov.au/acc/awards.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555