The Australian Government welcomes the election of Professor James Crawford AC SC to the International Court of Justice, and congratulates him on a significant personal and professional achievement.

He will commence his nine year tenure as one of the Court’s fifteen judges in 2015.

Professor Crawford was elected by an absolute majority of votes in both the United Nations Security Council and the General Assembly.

He will be only the second Australian member of the International Court of Justice, the other being Sir Percy Spender, who served on the Court from 1958 to 1967. His election is not only a well-deserved personal and professional accomplishment, but a great honour for Australia.

Professor Crawford is the most eminent international lawyer Australia has produced. He has enjoyed an illustrious academic career, having held the positions of Professor of Law at the University of Adelaide, Dean of Law and Challis Professor of International Law at the University of Sydney and, for more than 20 years, Whewell Professor of International Law at the University of Cambridge. His scholarly writings in the field of international law mark him as a jurist of the first rank.

Professor Crawford was also the first Australian member of the United Nations International Law Commission. He has appeared as Counsel in many leading cases before several international tribunals, including in the International Court of Justice.

The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations and plays a critical role in the peaceful settlement of disputes between States and in providing advisory opinions on emerging issues in international law.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555