The Australian Government today announced the New Colombo Plan will be rolled out in 38 locations across the Indo-Pacific from January 2015, following the success of the pilot program.

Foreign Minister Julie Bishop said the strong response to the New Colombo Plan to date has reaffirmed Australian students’ interest in gaining learning experiences in the Indo-Pacific.

“Around 1300 Australian students have participated or are participating in the Australian Government’s pilot program, undertaking short-term study or longer-term scholarships in the four pilot locations of Indonesia, Japan, Singapore and Hong Kong,” Minister Bishop said.

“In 2015 around 60 scholarships will be offered, as well as about $8 million in support to Australian universities to provide student mobility programs in the region.”

Education Minister Christopher Pyne said the expanded geographic footprint would offer universities new opportunities to build upon their existing linkages within the region and develop new ones.”

“It will also provide more students with a chance to develop new insights, ideas and networks within the Indo-Pacific,” Minister Pyne said.

Nominations for scholarships and mobility grants for 2015 are open. For information visit

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555