Today I announce the appointment of Ms Vicki Thomson as a member of the Australia-China Council Board.

Ms Thomson is currently the Executive Director of the Australia Technology Network which brings together some of Australia’s most innovative universities – Curtin University, University of South Australia, RMIT University, University of Technology Sydney and Queensland University of Technology.

Ms Thomson brings a diverse background and experience in higher education, politics and media to the Australia-China Council Board. In her current role Ms Thomson has been instrumental in building relationships between business, industry and universities, and supporting increased academic and student mobility between Australia and the Indo-Pacific region.

Previously Ms Thomson has held various roles include serving as Chief of Staff to the former Premier of South Australia and has had an extensive career in media in Canberra, Western Australia and South Australia.

Ms Thomson is a member of the New Colombo Plan Steering Group and the RMIT EU Advisory Board, and she was recently named in The Australian’s Top 50 most influential people in Higher Education.

Ms Thomson joins the Council as it embarks on a new strategy to increase student and professional mobility between Australia and China, support the Government’s economic diplomacy agenda and promote bilateral cultural engagement.

The Australia-China Council Board was established in 1978 to promote mutual understanding and foster relations between the two countries.

Ms Thomson replaces Professor Fiona Wood AM who served on the board from 2011 to 2014.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555