Australia-China Council

Media release

4 January 2013

Foreign Minister Bob Carr today announced the appointments of Professor Stephanie Fahey and Mr David Olsson as members of the Australia-China Council Board.

Professor Fahey and Mr Olsson took up their appointments on January 1, 2013.

Professor Fahey is currently Monash University’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement. Previously, she was Director of the Research Institute for Asia Pacific and Acting Assistant Pro Vice-Chancellor (International-Asia Pacific) at the University of Sydney.

From January 2013, Professor Fahey is also Lead Partner for Education in Oceania for Ernst and Young.

Professor Fahey has served on the Foreign Affairs Council, the National Board of the Australia China Business Council, Australia Korea Foundation, European Australia Business Council, and the Prime Minister's Science, Engineering and Innovation Committee.

David Olsson, a finance and debt capital markets specialist, is a senior partner in the Beijing office of international law firm King & Wood Mallesons. He was formerly a Managing Partner of Australian law firm Mallesons Stephen Jaques, heading its Hong Kong, Beijing and Melbourne offices.

He is the current Chairman of the China-Australia Chamber of Commerce in Beijing (AustCham).

“Professor Fahey and Mr Olsson bring an outstanding track record in furthering Australian education and business links with China,” Senator Carr said.

“They join the Council as Australia looks to further diversify our engagement with China, our largest trading partner.”

The Australia-China Council was established by the Australian Government in 1978 to promote mutual understanding and foster relations between the two countries.

Professor Fahey and Mr Olsson replace Mr Peter Cleary and Mr Chris Clark, who served on the board of the Council from 2009 to 2012.

Media enquiries