Australian Commonwealth Coat of Arms

12 May 2009

Protecting Australians from the Risk of Nuclear Proliferation

The 2009-10 Budget provides $9.2 million over two years for intensified Australian efforts to strengthen nuclear non-proliferation and advance nuclear disarmament efforts.

The funding will enable the important work being undertaken by the International Commission on Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament to continue, fulfilling the Government's commitment to strengthen Australia's leadership role on nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament issues. 

The Commission's work will contribute significantly to Australia's active middle power diplomacy on these regional and global security concerns. 

Co-chaired by former Australian Foreign Minister Gareth Evans and former Japanese Foreign Minister Yoriko Kawaguchi, the objectives of the Commission are to strengthen the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), reinvigorate the global effort against the proliferation of nuclear weapons and make practical recommendations aimed at achieving the ultimate goal of a nuclear weapons-free world. 

The Commission's work is providing important momentum for international cooperation in the lead-up to the 2010 NPT Review Conference in New York.

In addition, the Government will provide $1.2 million over three years from 2010-11 for the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Australian Safeguards and Non-proliferation Office) to continue to build regional capabilities in the areas of nuclear safeguards, nuclear security and export controls for nuclear-related items.

Media inquiries: