Diplomatic Corps Visit to Queensland

Media release


6 April 2011

Today, Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd welcomes Heads of Mission and Consuls-General and their spouses to Brisbane for an official visit of the Diplomatic Corps.

"Following the recent devastating floods in Queensland, this visit is an important opportunity to demonstrate to the world that Queensland is well and truly back in business," said Mr Rudd.

The visit has been organised in close consultation with Premier Anna Bligh, the Queensland government, business and industry groups.

The diplomats from over 70 countries, many of which are looking to invest in Australia, build trade with Australia, or whose citizens travel to Australia. This visit will assist them in knowing first-hand, and being better able to share, the tremendous opportunities on offer.

Mr Rudd, Premier Bligh and the Minister for Trade, The Hon Dr Craig Emerson MP, will address the corps this morning in Brisbane.

The two day program in Brisbane includes a reception hosted by Premier Bligh and a lunch hosted by the Governor of Queensland, Her Excellency Ms Penelope Wensley AC AO.

The visit includes a day in Cairns on Friday and finishes with dinner in Port Douglas.

This will be Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd’s first interstate regional tour with the diplomatic corps, reviving a tradition that saw the corps undertake eight such visits in the past to all Australian States and the Northern Territory.

Diplomatic Corps Visit to Queensland - Participating Nations

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El-Salvador
  • Eritrea
  • European Union
  • Finland
  • former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic Of)
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Oman
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tunisia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555